Should I be a high school or preschool teacher?

I’m torn.

At the institution I’m currently working, I’ve committed myself to a 12-month project. After that, I’m planning to go back home in the province. 

A new Philippine Science High School campus is presently being built in our area and it was in fact, one of my motivations why I applied for the Professional Teaching Certification (PTC) program of the University of the Philippines Open University (UPOU).

Although I am scared of standing or speaking in front of many people, I like sharing what I learned.  I want to improve the lives of many students and of course, improve the quality of education here in the Philippines as a whole. I’ve already thought of being a college instructor, but it would be quite difficult for me since most schools would like someone who has earned a master’s degree, and a master’s degree usually takes 2-3 years to finish. With PTC however, if you’re intending to be a full-time student, you can finish it in just 1 year. Also, it’s not only the time I’m concerned, but the tuition and other fees.

On the other hand, we have a preschool operated by my mother’s side of the family in which my older sister is currently teaching. And the school is just few meters away from our house (I can get there in less than 5 minutes!). It was my grandmother’s house when she was still living, converted to a preschool in 2003. Entering the preschool as a teacher will be no sweat. However, even though I like cute little children, I am not patient enough. Aside from liking kids and being cheerful and lively, to be a preschool teacher, one must be extremely patient. I hate being asked by the same question several times or being bothered so much. I just can’t keep up with their energies (yes, I am getting old though I don’t look like my age LOL).

I hope I can have my answer before the list of successful PTC applicants come out by March or April. *sighs* 

 

2 thoughts on “Should I be a high school or preschool teacher?

  1. Younger students really take a toll on you, and honestly I admire elementary school teachers for their dedication and ability to make a difference. Younger students require a lot of positive reinforcement and I personally could not handle it. I’ve been at the secondary level for 5 years now and wouldn’t go anywhere else, aside for maybe at a higher level. Good luck, I’m sure you’ll make the right decision.

    1. Wow, I admire your dedication. My mother is a teacher also, but she retired just recently after 43 years of service. She was an elementary grade teacher but did not stay as a classroom teacher for long. I really do hope I can make the right decision. Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

